ruminations on pieces of time. linking memory. history. story. purpose. loss. love. practicality. wayward ticking and the digital age. unfortunately no sundials.

photo_7

this thing cooks food quickly and reheats cold coffee.  it also is the only thing that tells the time in my kitchen.  it is a replacement to the old microwave oven that no longer rotated.  however, since my household is a fan of cast iron skillets, this thing doesn’t get much use. but it is a nice way to try and recapture the deliciousness of that fantastic meal from the day before.

photo_6

a 2008 christmas gift from an ex-girlfriend. one of two wristwatches i received that holiday. it is a skeleton watch, which means you can see all of the moving parts. it is kinetic, which means it winds itself when you wear it. i first read about these types of watches in a magazine. then saw it in macy’s with my then girlfriend after having traveled back in time to dickens’ village and observed scrooge face his own past in the present for the sake of his future. i commented on the watch in passing and quickly forgot about it. my then girlfriend remembered.

photo_5

this was the other watch i received that year. my brother gave it to me. it is digital and has a stop watch/timer. this was important because i was beginning to train for the philly triathlon and this was to help track my mile time while running. i didn’t end up doing the race that spring. i was hit by a car while riding my bike and fractured my coccyx, which halted my training for a length of time. this piece needs a new battery and wristband.

photo_4

year of clock unknown and not important. my grandfather passed away this past fall. he is a major reason this blog post even exists. this this small clock is one of the few things i claimed from his house. whenever i would spend the night, i would sleep in what was my uncle’s room growing up. this clock was on the night stand. i always liked it. now it lives in my apartment. my family is currently in the process of selling his house. without being able to just go there and sit and smell, i am concerned for the integrity of my memories.

photo_3

year of clock unknown and not important. this clock is awesome. this past october i got a new awesome roommate named amanda and this old awesome clock. when she moved in she brought a ton of fantastic decor. i like its aesthetic and the fact that it still works. she dislikes it. she dislikes clocks in general. she says she doesn’t like the pressure she feels from seeing time tick by. it is a quirk but i understand the sentiment. so for her sake, i’ve tried to place the clocks in my apartment in places that aren’t directly in the line of vision.

photo_2

like most folks, i check the time on my personal cellular phone often. i am the proud owner of a non-smart phone and i am fighting the good fight. finding time is difficult; i don’t get a chance to see my sweet nephew as often as i’d like. so i set a pic of his smiling face as my background. he is 7 months old. also, has anyone noticed that in this age of the cellphone we have reverted back to the pocket watch?

photo_1

actual pocket watch. originally used by my great grandfather who worked on trains. then it was my grandfather’s (the other one). then it became mine after he passed away my sophmore year of high school. he was a beautiful quiet man who gave his right leg in the korean war. i liked watching him swim. sadly my memory of this grandfather has grown thin. at the end of this watch chain used to be two pieces of turquoise that he had clipped on for weight. my brother got married in may 2009. for his 2008 christmas gift i had those turquoise pieces fashioned into handmade cuff-links to wear on his wedding day.

photo

the clock on my HP mini netbook computer on which i am currently typing. it is the first “new” computer i have ever owned. but it has been a number of years now since i bought it and i can tell that it is dying. at this point, it’s just a matter of time.

– Kevin Meehan

Kevin Meehan (Mortimer Mortimer)

Kevin Meehan
(Mortimer Mortimer)

Leave a Reply

