Lighting Design: There’s an app for that?

I Instagram a lot.

Almost every picture I decide is worth sharing on social networks is altered before I even get to the posting part. I add a filter, change the contrast, focus it and then post it to Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. I’m not sure why that is either. Maybe I think the filters look cool or that my pictures aren’t good enough for public consumption unless they are changed in some way. I’m sure this says something about my personality, but that’s not what this post is about!

I find that lighting design is rather similar to the act of applying a filter to digital photos. You get to apply your own “earlybird” or “kelvin” or “inkwell” look to the stage picture. The colors a lighting designer chooses can change the colors of the costumes and the colors of the set that the other designers so carefully handpicked. You can’t just willy-nilly pick out a gel and hope it works. You also can’t change your choices as quickly as sliding over to another filter.

While and after reading Failure: A Love Story, I saw most of the moments taking place in a sepia-toned world, with soft, rounded edges. The words flow seamlessly through the lives of the characters, but focus on moments that could be vintage snapshots of most peoples’ lives- the first time they see their first love, the first time they experience great loss and the moment they realize they can live through the heartbreak.

I don’t want to give away too much of the story or show you too many pictures, but below are some examples of the Instagram photos (before and after I applied the filters) I took during tech. Come see the show and decide what filter you would apply.

Robin Photos

Robin Stamey (Lighting Designer)

Robin Stamey (Lighting Designer)

Leave a Reply

